Guilt-Free German Chocolate Protein Bars

Hi Guys,

I hope you’re all had an amazing weekend!

Today, I would like to share with you all a guilt – free recipe that I discovered while going through a process of changing my eating habits. I must admit my love for chocolates and I find always really hard to control my sweet tooth, but so far it’s working.

I was checking online for healthy and tasty homemade protein bars recipes and I ended up coming across this this recipe (That’s the original recipe) German Chocolate Protein Bars from a blog called The Sweet Life Online.

DSC_7747I instantly new that I had found the recipe I was looking for, we made it at home and I loved! It so tasty and healthy.

Unfortunately, this recipe doesn’t have the nutrition values that each bars contains. I made it anyways because all the ingredients are really healthy, but since I don’t know the exact calories per bar I only eat one per day (Because I’m on a diet lol).

So here is the recipe:

German Chocolate Protein Bars

You are going to need the following ingredients:

DSC_7721

IMG_1254

1 cup oats or oat flour

1/2 cup soy protein powder

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2/3 cup dates, pitted

1/3 cup  + 2 tbsp pecans

1/2 cup + 3 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut

6 tbsp Agave syrup (the original recipe says Brown Rice Syrup)

1 tsp vanilla

A pinch of salt

Step 1

Well, if you have a food processor you can go for it and use it! Or  you can do like me and mix the ingredients using a blender!

Firstly, I blended each ingredient separately. Then using a large bowl I  added all the ingredients and mixed them together creating a dough.

The dough should be tacky but not sticky! You can add a little bit of water slowly if you realize the dough is becoming too dry. It should something like this:

IMG_1260

Since I couldn’t find rice syrup I substituted for agave syrup.

Step 2

Once you have your dough, place the dough on a cooking sheet on a plan surface.  Place another cooking sheet on top of the dough and slowly roll out to 1/2 inch thick, shaping into a square as you roll.

After you have it (something like in the picture below) place it in the refrigerator  for 24 hrs and allow it to get harder.

Step 3

DSC_7733 copy

DSC_7738

Next day, cut into 12 equal bar sizes. Store in the refrigerator for 5 days or up to a month in the freezer.

Enjoy!

Please in case you make this recipe, tell me your thoughts on it!! 😉

Love,

Carol x

2 thoughts on “Guilt-Free German Chocolate Protein Bars

Leave a comment